Where’s Jason?: The Lettuce Run

photo

Here’s the story of The Lettuce Run.

There I was in the hot, baking sun, covering the recent Rock the Shores festival in Victoria, a lineup featuring washed-up Canadian rock bands, a couple of nearly washed-up American bands (okay, sorry Jimmy Eat World and Weezer, you both put on amazing sets!), and some soon-to-be forgotten Canadian bands that are hot now but will be embarrassing to admit to liking, let’s say, five years from now.

So, I was off taking pictures of Sam Roberts or Tom Cochrane or Burton Cummings Randy Bachman or some bullshit (it was Roberts) in the photo pit and when I returned to my camp of the very best peeps the world has to offer, sun-buzzed and beer-fueled, the folks who’s I’s was hanging with had done a lettuce photo shoot in my absence.

It seems that earlier in the day when my sister was getting a sandwich at the local grocer the sandwich-maker/artist gave her a bunch of extra lettuce for no apparent reason. It was pretty much a whole head of the stuff. So, they had all taken a turn doing a lettuce photo; you know, holding it up to their smiling faces, peeking through the leaves, poses, all of that. With lettuce.

As they started to explain to me what they had been up to, I quickly cut them off and said, “This lettuce up for grabs?” The answer was a resounding yes. Then I did what any rational Jason Schreurs would do… grabbed the lettuce and sprinted with it, held high, full tilt into the audience. Lettuce flying everywhere as I skanked my way through the oblivious concert patrons. One big dude beside me got a piece of lettuce stuck to his face, so I smiled at him like it was no big thing and quickly ran the other direction with my remaining lettuce shrapnel.

It was certainly a memorable display of reckless abandon.

Here is the full photo as Exhibit Z of my never ending tom foolery, right before the moment of lettuce impact:

1004807_10151479872931331_99056183_n

PS – Rock the Shores roundup = Acres of Lions=boring, Jimmy Eat World=solidawesome, 54-40=tragic, The Sheepdogs=hairy, Matthew Good=mediocre, City and Colour=byebye, Reignwolf=legendary, Vince Vaccaro=meh, Awolnation=unfortunate, Mother Mother=annoying, Sam Roberts Band=fine, Weezer=sweatsoakedandhappyinafratboymoshpit

Requisite band photo:

Jim Adkins of Jimmy Eat World soaks up the rays during their FUCKING 2:45 pm set on the first day of Rock the Shores (photo Jason Schreurs).

Jim Adkins of Jimmy Eat World soaks up the rays during their FUCKING 2:45 pm set on the first day of Rock the Shores (photo Jason Schreurs).

Leave a comment